2022 Board of Directors

The Board of Directors is made up of 13 professionals from our community who volunteer their time and energy to serve as public trustees. They provide oversight to our agency, ensuring that we remain in compliance with laws governing the raising and management of funds, standards for quality patient care and standards for effective and efficient organizational performance. That is the tiny tip of the huge iceberg of their responsibilities to Hawai‘i Care Choices, the community, and the government.


In addition to being leaders in our community, they are also our neighbors, our friends and like 
many of us, parents raising children, who experience the very same joys and challenges that life presents.

Karen Maedo
K. Maedo_edited_edited_edited.jpg
Karen T. Maedo

Financial Advisor,


Vice - President 
Jeracah Lawless
J. Lawless_edited_edited.png
Vice - President
Jeracah I. Lawless

Director of Human Resources, HPM Building Supply

Haidee Abe
D. Kurohara_edited_edited.jpg
David Kurohara

Business and Community Consultant, Hawaii Electric Light

Jeracah Lawless
Clarysse Kami Nunokawa

Retired Management Analyst, Hilo Medical Center

Karen Maedo
Chuck Erskine

 Vice President and Branch Manager, First Hawaiian Bank

Brenda Camacho, MD


Kumu Vincent 2.jpg
Lehua M. Veincent

High School Principal, Kamehameha Schools

Rev. Junshin Miyazaki

Resident Minister, Hilo Meishoin

Edwin M. Montell, MD


Roy K. Nakamoto


Nakamoto, Okamoto & Yamamoto Attorneys at Law, A Law Corporation

Kerri Okamura, R.PH.

Director of Pharmacy Operations

KTA Super Stores

Audrey N. Takamine

Vice President

Takamine Construction, Inc.

Thomas Yeh


Law Offices of Yeh & Kim

Mission Partners & Program Funders